Skill Beats Luck in Legal Battle!

Yes folks, it’s true!  American poker players have long been waiting for a ruling like this since Black Friday in April last year.  Americans have been barred from the vast majority of online poker sites since the United States v. Scheinberg ruling declared that providing online poker to Americans was a federal offence.  Check out the wikipedia page for more of the background.

I don’t know about you, but I have to say I very much miss them!  America has a massive pool of players that frankly, I want to play against. Apart from anything else is the geography of the whole thing.  I live in the UK which means that essentially the later it gets in the evening for me, the less people are playing, as they are all on either the same time zone as me or ahead of me.

Now it looks like they could be back.  A judge in the US has ruled that poker is a game more based on skill than it is on luck.  If the Americans are allowed back there should be as many people coming on to the site as leaving, all throughout my evening and night.  14 hour stints could feasibly be back on the cards.  Blimey.

Check out the Economist’s take on things.

Leave a Reply

