Back in the saddle, with golden rules #2 and #3

Well I’m not avoiding playing poker any more, which is definitely a good thing.  What I’m also not doing is consistently playing properly.  At the times when I am following my own rules and obeying winning principles, I feel great, like I’m in the zone.  The problems come on the other occasions.  I’m playing too much at times that are not appropriate or when I’m not able to properly push any distractions aside.  Consequently I’m not actually making any money because during the bad times I’m losing the money that I have made when I’m in the zone.

Golden Rule #2

I watched yet another video from Nick Wealthall yesterday.  For those of you who don’t know of him he’s a poker presenter, player and more recently he has put together a training program to help people with improving their skills.  In the latest video that I have seen he was talking about the psychology of poker players and separating from the emotion of decisions at the table.  He talks about using an inner monologue throughout each of the hands, allowing for a more analytical approach to decisions that are made.

This concept is nothing new to me and is something that I used to use on a regular basis, but I haven’t done it consistently for a long time.  He’s right.  Of course he’s right, it’s common sense.  So if I know it’s common sense it must therefore be illogical not to use that inner monologue.

So that’s going to be my golden rule #2. I must concentrate on each hand that I play and achieve that by using my inner monologue.

An important point here is that I must define each hand ‘that I play’ as every hand that is dealt whilst I am at the table, regardless of whether or not I’m involved in the action.  By constantly observing my opponents I will have far better information to help me make the best decisions when I am involved in the action.

Golden Rule #3

The principle of paying as much attention as possible to each of the actions of my opponents leads very easily on to another conclusion – that I must not play more than one table at a time.

Multi-tabling could be argued to have it’s advantages, and certainly when I was consistently winning plenty of money in the past I did used to play two or even more tables at a time.  When this was appropriate I do believe that it helped me to increase my profits.  However this was only appropriate at times when playing at lower limit tables where I had plenty of information on my opponents already and I knew that a fairly formulaic approach would suffice.  The simple fact is that those tables are far less common nowadays.

I do want to explore multi-tabling in the future, in particular in reference to tournaments rather than cash tables, but for now I want to make golden rule #3 to only play one table at a time.  I cannot justify playing more whilst I’m not crushing the tables that I play.

3 thoughts on “Back in the saddle, with golden rules #2 and #3

  1. Pingback: Where’s the startline? | The Triple Barrel Kid

  2. Thanks! Always good to hear that someone has enjoyed reading something that I’ve written. At the moment I’m playing pretty small, usually $1/2 or $0.50/1 fixed limit Texas Hold ‘Em with a maximum of 6 players. It’s the format, but not the stakes, that I made most of my money on back in the day. I’m going to add a page in the not too distant future which explains what games I play at the moment and those that I used to play.

    It’s definitely worth checking out the Nick Wealthall videos. I was very tempted to sign up to his training program the first time round but felt I couldn’t spare the time to make the most of it. He’s got a good take on the psychology of the game.

    If you put your email into his website – http://www.nickwealthall.com – you’ll get links to his videos periodically, and as far as I’m aware they’re not all available on youtube etc.

    I hope you keep reading and enjoying, and good luck at the tables 🙂

Leave a Reply

